#WriteFriday – October 30th

I knew I wasn’t going to have a lot of time to write on Friday (my brother was doing a reading in Grand Marais and I was going with him).  So I rewrote “The Death of Ayvlin” Thursday night/Friday morning instead of trying to fit it in during the day.  I’m not exactly happy with it, but I think it is a much better reflection of what I want to do with the character than the older versions were.  And while we were in Grand Marais, I came up with the idea that Ayvlin could fit on another world I’ve made that needs some work (rather than building a completely different world for her).  I’ll need to brainstorm a bit with that and see how it goes (and whether or not she will actually fit there!)

Today my brother and I went to a workshop for writing a 10×10 play.  We had a lot of fun coming up with a ridiculous play that was a prequel to a short story we read there (“Voodoo” by Fredric Brown).  Alex later convinced me to use some of the ideas we came up with for that in an Apocalypse Madness story for this month.  So I present “Voodoo,” a ridiculous story that will make no sense unless you happen to know about Brown’s story.

I also decided to actually write something for NaNoWriMo.  Rather than write a novel, as I mentioned earlier in October, I decided to write 50,000 words of whatever; that made me decide to call it “Odds and Ends.”  So far all that’s in it is “Voodoo” and a quick note about a dream I had last night that I thought had real story potential (so 801 words).  I’m planning on writing a draft of the Grief Project and probably doing a bit of worldbuilding as well.  We’ll see how it goes!

Leave a comment

Filed under #WriteFriday, Apocalypse Madness, NaNoWriMo, Writing

Leave a Reply

