StoryNexus Project On the Go!

As I mentioned last time, I have been working on a personal writing project.  I thought that there was no time like the present to give some details: I’m currently worldbuilding for a StoryNexus game I’m going to make!

If you ran into me at GDC, this is probably no surprise; I told a lot of people there that I’d like to make a game with StoryNexus.  But I wasn’t really sure what kind of game I wanted to make.  I ran into Alexis Kennedy (co-founder of FailBetter Games, the company which created StoryNexus) back in San Francisco, and we chatted for awhile.  I mentioned that I had found it hard to create a game with StoryNexus the last time I tried to; he suggested that city settings seem to work with the toolset.  With that in mind, I needed to come up with an interesting city setting.  A few friends suggested setting something on Imezza, but I really didn’t want to.

Luckily the setting answer came to me a few weeks back.  About a year ago, I had been tossing around some ideas to write a graphic novel with an artist friend.  Unfortunately nothing ever came of that, but I had come up with an incredibly bare-bones plot idea which appealed to me.  I dug up the notes (of which there was very little) and started going from there.

I also emailed Yoon Ha Lee, the creator of Winterstrike (an amazing StoryNexus game).  She gave me some great advice on what worked and didn’t with Winterstrike, for which I am extremely grateful!

Beyond playing with the toolset a bit, I’ve never built a StoryNexus game before; I decided to start by hashing out the setting.  This game is going to take place in a city full of dead creatures (like vampires and ghosts); if you’re curious about it, I’ve started a Pinterest board for inspiration that you’re welcome to check out.  The setting has become entwined with a few key NPCs, so right now I’m working on both setting and characters.  Once that’s done, I’ll start plotting out story lines; to that end, I downloaded the free version of the GameBook Authoring Tool, which will hopefully help me keep everything straight!  This game is in dire need of a name; until I have something better, I am calling it “City of the Dead.”

Leave a comment

Filed under City of the Dead, Game Development, StoryNexus, Tools, Worldbuilding, Writing

Leave a Reply

