Writing Time – What is it to You?

I’ve been wondering this for a long time now: what should writing time entail?  Is it exactly what it sounds like, the period of time when you are actually sitting down and writing (or rewriting/editing)?  Or can it encompass other things, too?  Things like world building, plotting and research?

For me, I always felt like writing time should be the time when you’re actually sitting down to write something.  And that was all well and good until several of my personal projects got stuck in the world building stage.  So now I’m starting to rethink that whole idea about writing time, that maybe I should open it up to other things that are just as necessary for a writing project as actually writing the thing.

But, as my title asked, what is writing time to you?  I’d love to hear what everyone else thinks writing time should be.  If you don’t want to post here, you can also find me on Twitter where I’m also asking this question.

3 Comments

Filed under Writing

3 responses to “Writing Time – What is it to You?

  1. To me, writing time used to be just before I went to sleep. Now, it’s more when I’m multi-tasking, and writing a paragaph or two in between doing others things. My attention span has gotten smaller so my writing time is less like ‘writing time’ and more like ‘computer time’. Which is kind of weird and sad now that I think about it, haha!

Leave a Reply

