NaNoWriMo is Over…Now What?

NaNoWriMo finished about four days ago.  And now that it’s over, I’m really starting to feel its absence.  Sure, the mad-dash, month-long creativity is hard to sustain long term.  But after writing “The End,” I sort of feel at a loss for what I should work on next.

Sure, I could keep working on the story I wrote for NaNoWriMo.  As I’ve mentioned several times on this blog, I already have ideas for revisions.  But I’d prefer to take a bit of time, put a bit of space between me and the novel before I start tackling revisions.  If I don’t want to work on that right now, I could work on one of my other story ideas, or maybe start trying to untangle last year’s NaNoWriMo story.  But pretty much all of those are stuck in various stages of world building right now, and I’ve been content to let them sit, letting my mind work away at them here and there.  That’s not going to work long-term, but it’s working for now as I focus on some more immediate projects, not all of which are writing-related.

Besides novel ideas, I’ve also been wanting to work with RPG Maker.  As I mentioned in that post, I had an idea for a game and I had every intention of working on it; unfortunately life got rather busy last month and I was unable to.  Much like the novel revisions, I have every intention of tackling this project in the near future, but an RPG also needs to be put on hold for more immediate concerns.

The problem with all of these projects is that they are a little too large in scale.  Right now I need something much smaller.  I’ve wanted to write shorter stories over the last year, but the vast majority of my ideas have been too big for that.  So instead, I’m going to try to write a small something every day based off one of the many writing prompts I have in books and find online.  My plan is to get through with different writing prompts until January 1st, at which time I will try following along with A Writer’s Book of Days by Judy Reeves.  Like NaNoWriMo, I’m not going to beat myself up if I don’t write every single day; but I want to continue a relatively consistent writing habit into the new year, which is something I failed to do after last year’s NaNoWriMo success.

I’ll let you know how my progress goes!  🙂

4 Comments

Filed under Game Development, NaNoWriMo, RPG, Tears of the King, Writing

4 responses to “NaNoWriMo is Over…Now What?

  1. Same here, I’m a bit sad that NaNo’s gone for another year…

    Good luck! 🙂

  2. Good luck friend! I know you’ll do awesome. Also, I’m waiting for when the game you’re scripting comes out!! =D

Leave a Reply

