I Survived Week 1!

Well here we are, one week down and three more to go! It’s been a lot of fun writing so far. As I mentioned in my last post, I haven’t planned anything for this novel. Luckily that’s been fine; it’s already gone in some crazy directions! I had a subplot hijack the main plot for a couple of days; I was starting to think I should abandon the main plot in favour of the subplot, but today things managed to straighten themselves out and get kind of back on track.

Overall I’ve been pretty motivated to write. On average you need to write 1,666 words a day to make the 50,000 by month’s end. Today I should have 13,333 words; I currently have 16,339! I have several characters whom I’ve followed, which has really helped; whenever I lose interest in what’s happening with one bunch, I start following another for a little bit. I’ve been really lucky that the main character is still holding my interest, so I’m pretty confident that I made the right choice to follow her.

So far my story is really coming along, and I hope my motivation continues into week two. Once again, if you want to watch my progress (or be writing buddies) you can find me here on the NaNoWriMo site. I’ve also been updating Twitter with my writing progress, so you can also watch my Twitter feed for news about my novel. Good luck to everyone else who is participating!

Leave a comment

Filed under NaNoWriMo, Writing

Leave a Reply

