Theory Highlights

I dreamed a few nights ago that I was in Victoriaville mall with a friend of mine.  I told him that in the past, my brother and I used to go up to the second level above the food court and shimmy around the outside of the railing.  My friend decided that sounded like fun, so he left me to try it.  There was a father with some young children, a boy and a girl, who were watching him.  The father complained to me about my friend going around the outside of the railing; the father said he was a bad influence for the children.  We all went upstairs to find my friend sitting at a table, waiting for us.  The balcony is a strange, unstable shape and my friend was sitting at the spot that juts out over what I call the green (it used to be an area of green carpet, but I believe it is now grey tile).  After sitting for a little while, my friend decided it was a good idea to start jumping up and down in an effort to tip the balcony over onto the green.

I don’t normally remember my dreams, so I was lucky to have had this one before having to analyze one using Freud’s “The Interpretation of Dreams” for a class.  I started analyzing the dream using Freud`s method, but I was still looking at it from my own perspective.  Part way through my analysis, I decided to look at the dream the way Freud might.  This was when my analysis got a little strange: I started seeing weird things like the Electra complex where before  I only saw things relevant to my daily life. 

I personally am not a fan of Freud`s theories, especially the psychosexual theory (the Oedipus and Electra complexes).  So I was quite surprised when I was able to `find`evidence of the Electra complex in my dream.  I thought that this was a really good illustration of how different theory frameworks highlight certain aspects of a text while downplaying others.

Leave a comment

Filed under School

Leave a Reply

